Skip to content

Headed to Tonga

June 28, 2010

A couple months ago I was invited by a former art professor to come to Tonga for ten days. The idea, as far as I understand, is to join a group of American students with a group of local Tongan artists to make paper and dyes from native materials. Then we’ll each make an artist’s book, and the final books will be shown in a traveling show. This sounded beyond fun to me, but I was pretty sure I couldn’t justify it… but then I decided I couldn’t not justify it… I’m going! I leave tomorrow. My travel buddy Shannon is coming, too, and after our time in Tonga, we’ll hop a plane over to New Zealand for 10 days of exploring the North Island. Too bad it’s the dead of winter down there, but I’ll take what I can get! (if you recall this post, the South Pacific has been on the top of my “if I get to do any international traveling this decade” list… as long as I was going to be in Tonga… I had to hit New Zealand, too!) I’ll be sure to report back… wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 2:03 pm

    Good luck! That sounds gloriously wonderful.

  2. Hannah permalink
    June 28, 2010 7:43 pm

    Wahoo! Have fun!

  3. June 29, 2010 6:18 am

    ok, Tonga and New Zealand sounds like it is going to be AWESOME, even if it is the dead of winter! I’m assuming it was Joe who invited you (lucky duck!), tell him HI from me!

    I hope you have a ton of fun and can find yourself a great snorkel mask! :)

    oh, and the pictures of your books in the previous post? B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L! seriously, you ooze talent. :) I am in awe!

    you go, girl! whooop it up in the South Pacific!

Leave a Reply

