Skip to content

Gilding and Onlay Workshop with Tini Miura

March 1, 2010

The week of Presidents’ Day we invited Master Bookbinder Tini Miura here to Salt Lake City to teach a weeklong course titled “Execution of a Cover Deisgn on a Leather Surface.” I first met Tini in 1999 when I took my first bookbinding classes at The American Academy of Bookbinding, and I took subsequent classes from her in 2002 and 2004–but I never had taken her onlay and gilding class.

I’ll spare you much words and just jump to the photos I took of the students’ work. Here are the final plaquettes: (final being relative–they’re still not cleaned up and polished)

Diclaimer: some of us were not that thrilled about our designs–the main point was to practice the techniques, so my classmates said I could post photos as long as I don’t say who did what; but I will tell you that mine is the Micky Mouse — er — water molecule one (designed by my brother in-law for his dissertation that I bound years ago…and will someday finish). I’m thinking if I turn the water molecule upside down and use two closer colors for the parts, it will look less mouse-ish. Also, it looks like I didn’t get a photo of one of the student plaquettes. Darn. :)

Needless to say, each of us who took the class had a great time. Tini is truly a master at what she does. She is incredibly generous with her wealth of knowledge and experience, and even more, she is a delightful person with a huge heart and amazing stories to share. Combine Tini with the rest of the personalities in our group and it was of course a recipe for a great week. The Rocky Mountain Chapter of the Guild of Bookworkers has some great members.

It was so good to see Tini and to learn from her again! I still can’t believe my luck that I’ve had the privilege of learning from such an extraordinary person.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 1:25 pm

    gorgeous! i love those! i would love an entire library of leather bound gorgeous books like that. for now, i only have about 3…but my heart skips a beat every time i see one. i love this! what a cool opportunity to take this class with her!

  2. March 1, 2010 1:54 pm

    I was hoping the blue circles one was yours (water molecule! cool!), because it was far-and-away my favorite — and it does not look like Mickey Mouse.

  3. March 1, 2010 4:40 pm

    Very Groovy!

  4. Stephen permalink
    March 1, 2010 7:57 pm

    Wow!

    Wow!

  5. March 2, 2010 9:23 am

    LOVE!!! That just plain rocks!!!

  6. laurie permalink
    March 2, 2010 4:36 pm

    I like that mouse! ha ha. It doesn’t look like Mickey. But is is lovely. As is all of your fine work my dear.

  7. March 4, 2010 4:14 pm

    Beautiful work. You create the coolest things. Thanks for sharing!

  8. March 6, 2010 8:59 pm

    Jealous jealous! In a good way of course.

    P.S. your water molecule did not make me think about mice.

  9. zstitches permalink
    March 10, 2010 4:15 pm

    Ah, the perils of letting an engineer do design work. I say just use this one; I’ll bet he won’t notice the Disney thing.

  10. zstitches permalink
    March 10, 2010 4:17 pm

    Well now I’ve read the other comments I feel ashamed for putting down Dean’s artistry. (And, actually, I’ve seen him do some nice things. I just wish he’d finally finish our FHE chart he’s been perfecting for something like 3 months.)

Leave a Reply

