Skip to content

Well I’ll be (And shiver me timbers)

September 19, 2009

You learn something new every day, such as:

Yesterday but moreso today, whenever I would eat something, there’s been a weird bitter aftertaste in the back of my throat. No matter what I eat. Gum, chips, candy, or my leftover pesto. So tonight I finally googled it “chemical aftertaste in the back of my throat.” And I had found my answer within seconds:
Pine nuts! Purchased in bulk from Smiths. And they’re not cheap, I might add. I made pesto a couple days ago–it was delicious, and I was so proud of myself (I grew the basil myself). I’ve been eating it 3 days in a row. But! Come to find out, rancid pine nuts cause an ongoing bitter aftertaste in the mouth. I also fed it to a couple friends yesterday. Hopefully it hasn’t affected them!

Nice to know I don’t have a brain tumor. I think I’m going to throw out the little bit of pesto that I have left. (Pine nuts aren’t cheap, either!)

And now, in honor of the waning International Speak like a pirate day, I will translate the above into Pirate. This online Pirate translator has totally made my day. Arrgh!

You learn somethin’ new ever’ tide, such as:

Last high tide’ but moreso today, whenere I would eat somethin’, thar`s been a weird bitter aftertaste in th’ aft o’ me throat. Nay matter what I eat. Gum, chips, candy, or me porto’er pesto. So tonight I finally googled ‘t “chemical aftertaste in th’ aft o’ me throat.” An’ I be findin’ me answer within seconds:
Pine nuts! Purchased in bulk from Smiths. An’ they’s nay cheap, I might add. I made pesto a couple days ago–‘t be delicious, an’ I be so proud o’ myself (I grew th’ basil myself). I`ve been eatin’ ‘t 3 days in a row. But! Come t’ find ou’, rancid pine nuts cause an ongoin’ bitter aftertaste in th’ bung hole. I also fed ‘t t’ a couple shipmates last high tide’. Hopefully ‘t hasn`t affected them!

Nice t’ know I dasn’t be havin’ a brain tumor. I think I be goin’ t’ throw ou’ th’ wee bit o’ pesto that I be havin’ port. (Pine nuts aren`t cheap, either!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie permalink
    September 20, 2009 8:01 am

    pine nuts are expensive! but delicious. How long is their shelf life I wonder, I bought some a month ago i hope they are still good. Better google it!

  2. Lili permalink*
    September 20, 2009 12:59 pm

    That’s the thing, Laurie! Mine came straight from the store–meaning they were already bad before I bought them! What I was reading said that it’s best to buy Italian or American, and not Chinese or Korean. Also, nuts store best in the freezer.

  3. Mama permalink
    September 24, 2009 11:07 pm

    How’s it going with the aftertaste? Gone yet? (I hope.)

  4. Lili permalink*
    September 25, 2009 8:31 am

    The aftertaste finally seemed to be gone yesterday. So it only took what, 5 days. ;)

  5. Mama permalink
    September 28, 2009 10:05 pm

    Shudder.

  6. October 11, 2009 8:29 am

    I’m surprised the pirate translator didn’t change Smith to Smithy’s.

    I really like your header.

    And you have been assimilated to my reader. Mwa ha ha ha.

Leave a Reply

