Skip to content

Bruschetta

August 10, 2009

I’ve been growing basil on my windowsill and have consequently been eating bruschetta a heckuva lot. Here’s my favorite/easy way of preparing it:

Ingredients:

Nice crusty Italian bread, thinly sliced (I usually pick up something nice from the Smiths Bakery)

Olive Oil

Balsamic Vinegar

Vine-ripened tomatoes, diced

a clove of garlic

fresh basil, chopped

salt and pepper

optional: fresh mozzarella

Preparation:

Combine the tomatoes and basil (proportions are up to you–I like lots of basil) in a bowl and mix. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Toast the bread until it’s nice and crunchy (if you’re making lots, you can do it all at once in the oven, but for one or two people, a toaster is fast).

Rub the toast with a clove of raw garlic.

Drizzle the toast with olive oil

If you use mozzarella, put a slice onto the toast.

Pile the tomato/basil mix on top

Drizzle the whole thing with balsamic vinegar to taste.

Eat.

I love this meal oh so much, and it’s so easy.

This is traditionally served in small portions as an appetizer, but I’ve taken to making myself 3 or 4 slices of toast (depending on the size of the slices) and just eating it as a main course. :)

I looked for a good pic online but haven’t found one yet. Maybe I’ll just have to photograph my own next time I make it. But the one I’ve got here will do for now.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen permalink
    August 10, 2009 9:12 pm

    Yes please, the photograph.

  2. Stephen permalink
    August 11, 2009 10:58 am

    Thanks!

  3. zstitches permalink
    August 12, 2009 9:52 pm

    So is this your own photo, now?

    YUM.

  4. Lili permalink*
    August 12, 2009 9:55 pm

    No. It’s not my own photo. Mine has more olive oil / vinegar drizzle. :)

  5. OhSusanna permalink
    August 15, 2009 10:04 am

    Drooling. I didn’t grow any fresh basil this year, ’cause I didn’t grow anything :(

    If I grow anything, I always at least grow basil. Bring me some please.

  6. Lili permalink*
    August 24, 2009 5:58 pm

    There. Now it’s my own photo.

Leave a Reply

