Skip to content

Can anyone tell me what kind of tree/fruit this is?

June 22, 2009

The other day while walking home, I noticed what looked like smashed blackberries on the sidewalk. I looked up, and the berries were above my head. I figured that maybe a vine had wrapped itself up the tree, but upon examination, I realized that it was the tree itself that was producing the berries. And then I noticed more trees just like it as I continued my walk.

I wanted to taste the berries (didn’t I hear once that all purple berries are safe, white are not, and with red ones some are and some aren’t?), but I didn’t, because I didn’t know what they were.

Can anyone enlighten me?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 10:59 am

    Here’s my guess: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mulberry

  2. June 22, 2009 11:10 am

    Bada bing! (Agreed.)

  3. Lili permalink*
    June 22, 2009 11:11 am

    Yep, Brian. You’re right. I asked my family in an email and my bro came up with the same article. The thought had crossed my mind, but I didn’t know until today that mulberries grow on trees, not bushes!

    I blame my confusion on this apocryphal children’s tune

    I’m totally gonna pick and eat some next time I walk past :D

  4. June 22, 2009 11:21 am

    Just for the record I didn’t know. But you documented your discovery so well with photos that I was able to use Google’s image search and figure it out.

  5. the MomB permalink
    June 22, 2009 11:46 am

    Mulberries are edible, but in my experience they taste quite bland. Such a mess they make on the sidewalk. But I’m sentimental about them.

  6. June 22, 2009 11:58 am

    Taste of the fruit, and then share it with loved ones. Sorry, I just gave a Sunday School lesson on Lehi’s dream.

  7. June 22, 2009 12:02 pm

    LOL!

  8. Hannah permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:42 pm

    Mulberries make a nice pies. Google “mulberry pie” and you’ll probably get the recipe I used. They are milder tasting than blackberries. My boys like to eat them straight or frozen. I’m not crazy about eating them straight because it’s hard to trim their grassy stems all the way. But yes they are edible, tasty, and (if you can find an obliging tree) free.

  9. Lili permalink*
    June 24, 2009 10:54 pm

    Thanks for all the info, folks. I picked and ate a handful yesterday when I walked home. (Don’t worry, the tree was on the grounds of a business, not a private home). I thought they tasted kind of mild-cherry-ish. Not bad. But less berry-ish than some of my favorite berries (blackberry, raspberry, etc)

  10. June 25, 2009 10:01 pm

    YOU’RE ON SERIOUSLY SO BLESSED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I couldn’t even believe it!

  11. Lili permalink*
    June 26, 2009 12:15 am

    Kate, you should be in bed!! (and so should I)…

  12. Anonymous permalink
    July 5, 2009 10:43 pm

    HEY! Isn’t it about time for a new post?

    –from one of your fans

  13. July 6, 2009 3:18 pm

    Just found you. Now I can stalk you here too! ;) When I was a kid there was a mulberry tree near the public library where we lived and I have really fond memories of picking them along the walk.

    There’s a mulberry tree overhanging a fence on 400 West about 600 South in Orem. But the berries there are kind of mottled, often white. Way sweeter than I remember but I still want a tree of my own. :)

  14. Lili permalink*
    July 6, 2009 3:48 pm

    Heather, that’s funny– I’ve been stalking you for a while! I guess I’m bad at leaving comments.

  15. Stephen permalink
    July 12, 2009 5:42 pm

    When I lived in NJ, there were mulberries growing everywhere. I never paid much attention to them because, to me, they seemed cloyingly sweet, yet bland. How I long for the ubiquitous blackberry of home.

Leave a Reply

