Skip to content

My Amazing and Talented Friends (part one)

June 18, 2009

Here’s another blog post I’ve had in my mind for a few months before I ever actually wrote it.

I just wanted to highlight a few of the amazing people I know.

First, Aline. She is originally from Corsica. I first met her something like 6 years ago when she first came out for school at BYU. We went on to be good friends, and roomed together for several years. She double majored in Media Arts (Film Studies?) and French. Last year she wrote the script for Road To Zion–France, a documentary about the history and current state of the LDS church in France (and other nearby French-speaking nations). She then took a production crew over to France to lead the tour/interviews. It recently aired on KBYU (and I missed it, d’oh!). But I got my family to set the digital recorder for the next time it airs, and the DVD is also available.

Second, The Mollies.

I moved to Salt Lake City in February, and immediately met some really fantastic people. Vivian and Becky are two of those people who surprise you because they are as kind and sweet as they are beautiful. They also happen to belong to a locally well-known band called the Mollies. Below I’ve linked to a video of one of their songs. Their lyrics are a lot of fun. And their album (Yours Around the Rosies)  is available on iTunes and CD Baby!

Lastly (for this installment), Laurie.

Laurie and I both did our BFAs at BYU. She was a couple years ahead of me in the program. In fact, when I first met her I was a lowly freshman (though I’m several years older than she). I was in my first art class of my life and she was already a budding artist. But she was so kind and warm toward me. Later we traveled to London together on an Art and Art History study abroad trip, and we became good friends. Anyway, she went on to do an MFA at Ohio State University, and she just completed her MFA show. I’ve only seen photos of her show and heard a description of it, but it really sounds lovely. And good news! A prominent art collector in Ohio purchased the main piece from her show! Laurie just finished school, and is getting married in two weeks. Crazy organization skills and energy that girl has. She’s one of my heroes ;)

laurie's paper quilt

laurie's paper quilt detail

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie permalink
    June 18, 2009 9:54 am

    Wow! Thanks Lili! How flattering. I’ve never been featured on a blog, That made my day! You are my hero

  2. Laurie permalink
    June 18, 2009 9:57 am

    Oh also, I love that music! So catchy and lovely!

  3. Lili permalink*
    June 20, 2009 2:17 pm

    I’m glad you’re flattered, Laurie (since I didn’t check with you first!)

  4. June 20, 2009 6:26 pm

    1. Watched Mollies vid.
    2. Liked them.
    3. Bought album.
    4. Loved them.
    5. Spread word.
    6. More downloads followed and may continue into eternity.

  5. Lili permalink*
    June 20, 2009 8:56 pm

    haha, Shaun–cool!

Leave a Reply

