Skip to content

Mapping the West: my fold-out book for the show

May 15, 2009

As I approach this collaboration between Liverpool and Utah-based artists, I can’t help but consider the connections between the two places and their people.

In the 19th century, millions of emigrants left England through Liverpool to go West–including some of my own LDS ancestors who eventually settled in Utah.

Utah and the British Isles are the two parts of the world most familiar to me, and they are the two places I can comfortably call home. Having returned recently from living in the English countryside, the two places naturally juxtapose themselves in my mind. When I am in England, I often find myself missing Utah, and vice versa. This fold-out book is a visual exploration of the relationship between the two places I call home.


7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 1:01 pm

    Awesome! I love it! The colors are just beautiful and I really like the idea behind it as well. It also kinda makes me think of how when the pioneers (many from greener places like England) got to the deserts of Utah they started planting trees and now it’s a mix of green and brown! Anyway, just my thoughts. Well done!

  2. May 15, 2009 6:49 pm

    I’ve just loved reading about this project you have been working on! I love hearing about your creative process and just really admire the way you express how you came up with your work. Thanks so much for sharing this Lili! My husband has also really loved it, too. He is from Provo and did a semester at Oxford, so he has a love of England/British Isles and Utah too! Thanks so much for sharing!!! You are such a talented woman!

  3. zstitches permalink
    May 16, 2009 12:14 am

    I want one.
    And I swear I am somehow going to remember to come see the show. (The 5 PM gallery closing time is a stumbling block for me, though.)

  4. Hannah permalink
    May 16, 2009 8:07 pm

    Beautiful! You are so talented. I love it!

  5. May 17, 2009 12:50 am

    Lili, that is SO COOL! Perfect concept, *beautifully* executed.

  6. May 28, 2009 6:11 am

    Amazing, as always. I’m so very jealous. I wish I had more time for my art. (sigh) Maybe in about 15 years or so, right?
    Miss seeing you around!

  7. June 1, 2009 11:14 am

    Hey Lily, I finally found your blog! This book is amazing. You are one of the most talented people I know, it’s inspirational. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

