Skip to content

Easter Eggs (A week late)

April 20, 2009

A couple weeks ago my sister Suzy hosted an egg-decorating party for the whole family (there are 15 nieces and nephews now…so it was quite a to-do).
I was excited, because I hadn’t died eggs in several years. I even did a bit of internet research looking for good ideas before the event.

These ones are just dyed then decorated with stickers, but I think they turned out pretty. The stickers were sliced so that they would fit the contour of the egg.

Thanks to this website for showing me how to use nylons to leave (pun intended) leaf patterns on the eggs. I was surprised how well it worked.

I’m pretty sure my sister thought these ones up all by herself:

I had a little vial of glass bead glitter that I’d gotten on sale a few years ago…it had been waiting patiently for a project like this. The one with swirls was made by Suzy. She had the presence of mid to blow her egg first. Mine was hard-boiled and pretty much inedible, since I used shellac to make the glitter stick :) But I like the idea of ephemeral art…at least, when it comes to egg-dying or pumpkin-carving.

I dyed this next one, then etched the design with a steel etching needle (I’m a printmaker–so of course I have these kinds of tools lying around). It probably would have been faster just to draw on the egg with a white crayon and then dye it. But you know–gotta try new things :)

Theses next ones turned out lovely for the simple fluke that something weird was going on with the dye, and the spots appeared as the eggs dried.

And lastly, the token gaudy eggs: (I just couldn’t resist using glitter and jewels…what else would I have used them for? Incidentally, I bought that silver glitter with my birthday money when I was twelve).

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 8:31 pm

    Wow, they are really beautiful. Love the glitter, and hand etched eggs. You are really upping that measuring stick for the rest of us. I am so lazy, I have not let my kids dye eggs as I don’t want the mess. Naughty Mommy.

  2. April 20, 2009 8:33 pm

    Referring to the title of your blog: And clearly eggs need dye.

  3. April 20, 2009 10:21 pm

    Hey wait! Is the disappearing pics problem affecting everyone now? Peter says when he looked at this post, there were pictures of your leaf impression eggs, but they’re not showing for me now.

    I think the speckled ones are because someone shook salt in some of the dyes to achieve that effect. I overheard some talk of it and I remember trying it many, many years ago.

    Your eggs are super extra extremely cool. I’m glad you’re still posting Easter egg pics, because I still hope to post a couple of pictures of mine from Suzy’s extravaganza.

    Looking at the scrumptious backdrops for these pictures, allow me to say that I heartily, heartily approve of your growing fat quarter collection.

  4. Lili permalink*
    April 20, 2009 10:29 pm

    Laura: made me laugh with your eggs need dye.

    Mary: Grr… YES the disappearing photos problem has been affecting me, too. I thought I’d figured out a workaround…but I obviously haven’t. *sigh*

    Check in later–hopefully I’ll have it solved.

  5. Lili permalink*
    April 20, 2009 10:29 pm

    Oh. And I meant to say I’m glad you approve of my fat quarters :)

  6. Lili permalink*
    April 20, 2009 10:46 pm

    There–I *think* they’re all there. There should be 9 images.

  7. April 21, 2009 11:52 am

    When I clicked through this time, there were 7 images showing, so I clicked refresh, and now there are 6. :(

  8. Lili permalink*
    April 21, 2009 11:58 am

    yeah. things are still disappearing. sigh.

  9. April 21, 2009 5:33 pm

    Nice eggs.

    My most creative Easter egg dye event this year was dropping left-over dye tablets on my driveway to see if the rain would make it look Eastery.

    It didn’t.

  10. Christie permalink
    April 27, 2009 9:34 pm

    Wow, these are awesome. Not that I would expect any less from those crazy-brilliant Halls…

Leave a Reply

