Skip to content

I can’t help but think about how it’s lambing season

April 8, 2009

Remember these little guys?

And these lovely scenes?

I don’t miss West Dean in the cold dark miserable winter, but I sure do in the spring!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 2:23 pm

    I’m waiting for the little baby quails to start running around out here. They’re probably one of my favorite signs of Spring. They’re just so cute!

  2. zstitches permalink
    April 8, 2009 10:34 pm

    I miss England in the Spring, too.

  3. Lili permalink*
    April 8, 2009 10:57 pm

    :)

  4. April 11, 2009 5:53 am

    Lili, this is a lovely reminder. :)

  5. April 16, 2009 9:02 pm

    Gorgeous photos! Why the sheep have things painted on them? Am I the only one who doesn’t know?

    Looks like graffiti?

  6. Lili permalink*
    April 16, 2009 11:23 pm

    The paint is a way to keep track of the lambs when they’re newborn. When I lived in Ireland, one day all the sheep were spray painted with big orange and blue spots. I thought it was some prank from the local youth/thugs, but over time I figured out that it was actually a way of marking the lambs. Not very pretty. But perhaps more humane than tagging them?

  7. the MomB permalink
    April 18, 2009 8:31 pm

    Perhaps more humane, but certainly a lot faster, and easier to see. And uglier.

  8. Lili permalink*
    April 18, 2009 9:01 pm

    Uglier: yes.

Leave a Reply

