Skip to content

For those of you who read my blog via a subscription,

April 6, 2009

Click on through and leave a comment

I need validation–Do you like my new blog design?

(but in the words of TAMN, if you don’t like it…just say that you do)

:)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 9:39 pm

    Very Beautiful! I love it!

  2. Lili permalink*
    April 6, 2009 9:42 pm

    haha, thanks Betsey :)

  3. April 6, 2009 10:59 pm

    It does not suck. (That’s as much validation as I can give until I’m no longer consumed by my defense).

  4. April 7, 2009 7:06 am

    here’s some validation:
    great job!
    i love it.
    good work.
    nice header.
    work it.
    you go, girl.
    awesome!

    truly, good stuff. :)

  5. April 7, 2009 9:04 am

    Love it. It’s beautiful…peaceful. Adds a bit of sunshine to my day!:) Thanks for the pots and pans advice…thank you to your mom as well. I just may buy that set at Costco. I was hoping for something less expensive, but the more I htink about it, the more I htink I’m just going to do it. I won’t use the steamer because I like mine, but I love the big sautee pan. AH! Decisions decisions. Maybe I’ll just go and do it and not look back.:)

  6. April 7, 2009 9:07 am

    I really like the photo in the banner and the colors a great too. The only thing I’m not crazy about is the comments being above the post… but that’s it!

  7. Acheté permalink
    April 7, 2009 12:15 pm

    Spring!

    I like it.

  8. April 7, 2009 1:15 pm

    i like it lots. very lovely, as befits the authoress.
    also, i actually do like the comments being at the top. i went to great lengths to put comments at the top of my own posts (back when i wrote them).
    well, done, m’dear. and i apologize for reading too often via subscription.

  9. April 7, 2009 1:33 pm

    I like the new design. It’s so calming.

  10. the MomB permalink
    April 7, 2009 2:28 pm

    Hey Lili (&/or Jenny–but I can’t contact her directly), I found another good option for cookware. These pans are supposed to be in stock at the Orem Walmart: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5716478

    No saute pan, unfortunately, but then, no steamer either–and no shipping charges. Lili’s and mine are identical to these (altho’ back then we were able to find sets w/more pieces), and they’re just great.

    I have a Calphalon tri-ply saute pan very like the one in the Costco set, and I do love it; it works great as a chicken fryer too. Here’s the best deal I found on eBay today for one: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=260389665114
    They retail at WAY more than that. Oh hey look, I just found a used one w/a substitute lid: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300305266124
    Who knows where those bids could wind up, but it might be worth a try.

    (Sorry to shanghai your blog, Lil.)

  11. the MomB permalink
    April 7, 2009 2:29 pm

    Oh, and I love your banner, Lili.

  12. April 7, 2009 9:00 pm

    i LOVE the banner…did you do it?

  13. Lili permalink*
    April 7, 2009 10:57 pm

    Thanks for the comments, all. I feel validated–or at least humored. :)

    Carly–I wasn’t sure about the comments at the top, either. But I don’t speak CSS so I’m stuck with blog templates. And while none are perfect, I liked this new one for wordpress b/c it let me set a few of the colors, which was my first taste of CSS-speak (I googled CSS colors).

    Jo–You de-lurked! Now that I know that a few more than 2 people follow my blog I feel a bit of pressure to at least try and be substantive.

    Rob–yep. Made the banner from a photo I found a year or so ago on flickr and have loved ever since:
    Apple blossoms
    (I left a comment trying to get permission from the photographer, b/c I’m not sure how else to reach her, and I really love the photograph)

  14. April 8, 2009 7:11 pm

    I love the redesign! It looks great! I was wondering, what’s the widget you use for the related posts? Also, in your google reader feed there’s a part in the bottom that shows how many comments are on the blog and a link to stumble it. How did you do that?!?

  15. Lili permalink*
    April 8, 2009 11:35 pm

    Hey Melissa! (This has nothing to do with this post, so feel free to delete it)

    I don’t know what to say–I’m CSS illiterate so for now I’m stuck with blog templates, so maybe it just comes with the template. I’d assumed that the comment count in reader worked with all wordpress blogs (it works with my sister’s in reader–I just checked). But then with the stumble link, my sister’s doesn’t have it… So. I’m afraid I have no answers!

  16. Lili permalink*
    April 8, 2009 11:42 pm

    Ooh, I take it back–see if this works:
    In your dashboard, click on “reading” under settings. There should be a part that says “for each article in an enhanced feed, show…” and then a list. Looks like I’d checked comments and stumble. So I think that’s how I did it. There are also other options. See if that works!
    As for the related widget, once again I’m not sure–I’d thought it was a default wordpress thing. I’ll do a bit of investigation though and see if I can figure it out :)

  17. April 9, 2009 3:59 am

    Might be a plugin? Something like this >> http://www.blahblahtech.com/2008/01/wordpress-plugin-socialize-me.html ?

  18. OhSusanna permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:38 pm

    LUrvE your new banner, girlfriend!!!

Leave a Reply

