Skip to content

It’s that time of year again…

April 4, 2009

Prom.

Come to find out, a lot of kids make their prom dresses and suits/tuxes out of duct tape. I’ve always thought they were cool, and a year or so ago, after reading about the annual Charmin’ wedding dress contest winners, I found that it wasn’t all that easy to find pics of duct tape and toilet paper dresses online (because, you know; I was working on a thesis–which meant I had time to waste on time-wasting endeavors such as finding images of duct tape prom dresses). So I compiled a few links and put it in this post.

I know I keep revisiting the topic, but I just think it’s funny that this post gets the most traffic of all of my blog by a landslide.

Today when I logged into my wordpress dashboard, I saw that there was a significant spike in visits to my blog. The reason? These statistics speak for themselves:

Prom is definitely here.

(Sadly, though the numbers are increased, the search terms pretty well represent any day for what leads people to my blog. Ah well. Glad to know my labors have been of service to the public).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2009 9:32 pm

    You OWN those search terms! That’s incredible.

  2. zstitches permalink
    April 4, 2009 10:49 pm

    My biggest hit post is still my (son’s) Pokemon papercrafts post.

    I’ve spent a long couple of hours looking at duct tape ensembles a couple of times in the past. At first I thought they were way awesome, but later I decided that with the level of detail and effort that goes into some of them, and the cost of the duct tape, they might as well use fabric; even silk is probably cheap enough these days to make an outfit for a similar cost.

  3. April 5, 2009 12:16 am

    If I recall from last year, the makers of Duct Tape actually sponsor a nationwide contest with some pretty big scholarship money to the kids who make the best ones. I spent a few hours looking through the past winners and runner-ups last year. I believe that was the first time I realized you could get duct tape in more than just silver.

Leave a Reply

