Skip to content

So I probably shouldn’t flaunt my creative visions before I actually make anything…

March 26, 2009

But I’ve been catching the quilting bug lately…
I’m finally all (or mostly all) moved into my apartment, which means I’ve gotten out much of my art stuff for the first time since I graduated in 2007. It feels so good to actually have better access to creative potential again. My room is bright and cheerful (photos to come–I tried my wee bit at decorating and it was fun), and I made sure I have a big desk for to have a space to create.

Mostly I’ve just been looking.

At lots and lots of pretty things on blogs and websites.
Last Monday, when I should have been filing my taxes (I made almost no money last year and wasn’t going to file…but then the economy collapsed and the government decided to borrow money from us so that they can give stimulus packages to–us, and I figure hey, I may as well cash in, right? So now I have to file).

Anyway. As I was saying,

Last Monday when I was supposed to be filing my taxes, I looked at lots and lots of online artsy-craftsy stuff–especially quilts–instead. One pattern/style in particular I fell in love with is called the cathedral quilt:

Which led me to this tutorial,

Which made me realize it’s a totally do-able but fancy-looking quilt for a beginner-slash-non-sewer like me!

So, I’m definitely feeling inspired.

JoAnn’s has a 50% off coupon through Saturday. Maybe I’ll go buy enough nice heavy cotton to “back” a quilt…!

(Or am I setting myself up for failure?!?!)
10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 6:54 pm

    So beautiful, I love quilts!

  2. March 26, 2009 10:26 pm

    Wow. That looks great. I’ve seen those quilts before but I’ve never known how they were made. Thanks for pointing me towards that tutorial.

    You say they are having a sale this weekend? I just might have to stop by myself.

  3. zstitches permalink
    March 26, 2009 11:49 pm

    Lili, you MUST come look at my Japanese quilting mags . . . I’m pretty sure there’s one that’s all variations of this pattern. If not, there’s lots of other eye candy.

  4. zstitches permalink
    March 26, 2009 11:50 pm

    P.S. those are pretty

  5. Lili permalink*
    March 27, 2009 7:07 am

    Uh. Yeah duh I must–you never told me you had Japanese quilt magazines!
    Not to mention I MUST come visit you. I miss y’all. And I need me some of that baby.

  6. March 28, 2009 10:11 am

    I too need me some of that baby.

    And nice quilting shtuff. Very cool.

  7. March 29, 2009 6:31 pm

    That’s so cool. And you could do it. The fabrics in the second pic are all Heather Bailey, by the way. Keep sharing the great links.

  8. Carli permalink
    March 30, 2009 8:08 am

    Very cute! I love the bright colors you chose, i have those same fabrics. I am currently in the process of making Keslee a quilt/ bed set for her 13th birthday this summer. I cannot wait to get it all finished. Sometimes i wish i had a little girl to make things for! Please post some photos when you are done! I cannot wait to see the finished product!

  9. Lili permalink*
    March 30, 2009 8:44 am

    I’m glad everyone likes it :)
    But Carli, I feel like I’ve fooled you. These quilts aren’t mine but ones I found online. But I do want to make one… (to be continued)

Trackbacks

  1. Speaking of things I like, « Plants Need Water

Leave a Reply

