Skip to content

A tragedy has occurred

February 25, 2009

First of all, I’ve been nearly 3 weeks without Internet at my new abode. It’s probably actually been good for me. I’ve wasted way less time on line. Except for Monday, which I had off from work… I spend several hours at my mom’s catching up on emails, blogs etc.

But the REAL tragedy is what happened to my Macbook the other day. See, I brought my laptop to my sister’s the other day, since, as I just explained, I have no Internet. So I brought my laptop over to her house to use her wireless.. and I left my computer there. That’s not the tragedy. I’m getting there.  It was several days before I made it back to pick up my computer. I was swinging by on Monday after my sister’s bedtime, so she said she’d leave it right inside the door for me to pick up. I went over, got it, brought it back to the car. All good. I pull up to my new apartment in Salt Lake. I’ve got a car full of more of my stuff from my mom’s (I’ve been moving in gradually). So I get my arms full of all kinds of stuff I’m bringing into the apartment–including my computer. I get out, close the car door, and CRASH. My computer flies out of its case. The case had not been zipped! Yet it had made it from my sister’s house to the car just fire.

I believe the words I uttered were “Oh my poor sweet baby. Oh my poor sweet baby! I’m so sorry.” (It is a well observed fact that people tend to grow attachments to their computers–sometimes anthropomorphizing them–though to be fair, at least my computer doesn’t have a name).

One corner was quite badly dented–some of the aluminum pulled away in a crease away from the edge around the disc feed slot. It looks so sad. Maybe when I have the Internet again I’ll post a photo. I’m very very… very sad. Apple Care does not cover this kind of thing.

The good news is, the computer itself seems to still be working perfectly. Maybe I can get a little bit of body work done on the computer to put the aluminum shell back where it belongs and so that the computer will close a little better?

In happy news, I’m going to see Andrew Bird perform tonight. My brother and his fiancee are cool enough to want my company as a third wheel.

Oh, and speaking of wheels and in even bigger news, my sister is being induced today (because of high blood pressure–would’ve been nice if she could have gone a couple more weeks, but since she’s technically full-term and her blood pressure’s been high for the past month, the medical folks want to get the baby here asap), and I should be an aunt for the 15th time later today. (The baby will be a Wheeler–that’s where the speaking of wheels came from).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 5:43 pm

    Andrew Bird=EXCELLENT

    Dropping Mac=Heartbreaking! So sad! Hope you can get the necessary repairs to make him/her all shiny and new again!

  2. zstitches permalink
    February 27, 2009 11:04 pm

    I am so so sorry about your baby. (And so so glad that my baby is doing GREAT.)

  3. Laurie permalink
    March 1, 2009 5:54 am

    Sad lili! but to your credit, the first words you uttered were totally clean. I might have slipped in a four letter word under my breath! (I allow myslef 5 a year) Anyway! Jealous that you went to Andrew Bird. I love him!

  4. March 2, 2009 9:30 pm

    Sorry about your laptop!

    Lil — what did you think of A.B.? I went to see him here in Boston about three weeks ago. LOVED IT.

  5. Ligia permalink
    March 27, 2009 8:42 am

    I know what you mean about the computer. My laptop has a broken hinge thanx to my little boy who likes to use it as a trampoline. When it broke I was so sad. What a world we live in. :OP

Trackbacks

  1. I’ve also been meaning to blog about my incredibly positive experience with Apple Care « Plants Need Water

Leave a Reply

