Skip to content

Sixteen Things about Myself

January 21, 2009
(Also posted in Facebook–this was written for Jenny R. who tagged me).

1 A year ago while living in Oxford, a car drove into my house in the middle of the night.

2 I never learned to cartwheel :( And now that I’m all grown up, I’m too scared to try!

3 I own a banjo (but can’t play it all that great)

4 Two of my brothers and I are the only speakers of Dolisha in the world.

5 Ibl yairogak ni it tzarverlank yumto doli yumlan ib kapir irlan.

6 I can plug my nose with my upper lip (I actually took this photo for this post–since Daina said she would like to see a photo of it).

7 I met Ewan McGregor (and swooned).

8 I also caught his and Jane Krakowski’s wedding bouquet (Guys ‘n’ Dolls in London. It was pretty funny–it just came right at me…so I reached up…and for a second I was confused, like, did I need to give it back? Nope, it was mine. All mine. It also made an easy lead-in when I met Ewan–first names now, haha–an hour later).

9 I spent a year living at Hogwart’s

10 When I was little I had total celebrity-awe of my older siblings’ amazingly talented and beautiful/handsome friends (including Jenny), and I’m still learning how to not gawk when I’m around them.

11 Among my favorite flowers are poppies, delphinium, columbine, and nasturtiums. Oh! And flax, too!…(and, and…)

12 I own about a dozen skins of goat and buffalo leathers in amazing colors. They’re waiting to be made into books.

13 I once ate quail in a ridiculously posh room in the Bank District in London, under a HUGE portrait of Queen Elizabeth. And I was wearing flip-flops.

14 Speaking of the Queen, I wasn’t named after her, but she may be the only other Elizabeth I know of whose nickname is Lilibet.

15 Which is where Lili came from. (Elizabeth–>Lilibet–>Lili)

16 As a wee lass, I often got my head stuck between things…for example, once when I was a baby, my family heard screaming from my room where I had been napping. My head was stuck between the crib bars. There was no way my head was coming unstuck without cutting. My dad said “get the saw,” and my sister Mary said “oh NO!”

Generally I don’t do the tagging-thing (Ok, generally nobody tags me) ;) But this one turned out to be fun to write. I already tagged a few people in facebook, so I’ll end it there. But if you want to write 16 things about yourself, by all means consider yourself tagged.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 12:13 pm

    I still can’t believe Dad was ready to saw your head off to save the crib.

  2. the MomB permalink
    January 21, 2009 4:45 pm

    It’s a good thing you (marymary) were there to save her!

  3. Lili permalink*
    January 21, 2009 5:10 pm

    Or I wouldn’t be here today to tell you all about it.

Leave a Reply

