Skip to content

Mom’s Wonderful Antique Ornaments

January 5, 2009

My mother has a fairly vast collection of wonderful vintage Christmas Tree ornaments. She has so many that each year we’ve started choosing a color or two or three (or many more), and using just use a portion of the ornaments. This year’s tree was a wee one, so we only used maybe 1/4 to 1/3 of the wonderful ornaments. We decided to go with mostly just the old colorful glass ornaments. Some of them belonged to my Grandma Grace. Others were acquired here and there. The red glass pine cones I found for my mom to buy at DI years ago, so I’m hoping to inherit them. ;) The glass teardrop icicles were purchased many years ago at Cost Plus in California, the plastic snowflakes and icicles were my grandmother’s. The blue and red bells are from the WWII era–you can recognize war-era ornaments because they have paper tops instead of metal.

I really thought our tree this year was beautiful (who am I kidding, it’s beautiful every year).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 12:10 am

    This gives me vast delight. Vast. I love Christmas!

  2. cate permalink
    January 6, 2009 3:11 am

    so sparkly pretty beautiful!

  3. Mom permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:45 am

    Oh Lili, I didn’t know you had done this–THANKS!
    Tomorrow is Twelfth Night so the tree will be coming down very soon (sigh) and I’m very glad to have these photos.
    p.s. The tree looks a good deal more red & blue than it did in real life, doesn’t it? The whole thing had a sort of I-don’t-know-how-to-describe-it pale silvery-gold glow to it. We’ve often talked about the difficulty of capturing a lighted tree truly in photographs.

Leave a Reply

