Skip to content

Home Movies

December 6, 2008

Black Friday brought our household a 42″ LED screen at a fantastic price, so the 36-incher came upstairs. We had to rearrange (and alter, with a router) a lot of furniture to get it all to fit, but it’s all coming together. We christened the new TV by watching the Original Superman (you know, the Christopher Reeve one) in HD. Hadn’t seen it in years. I think I’m still in love with Superman. But I think maybe I love Clark Kent more than Superman. Anyway.

My mom purchased a machine that copies VHS videos to DVD, with the intent of (finally) converting our home videos (which are degrading) to (also degradable, but updated, at least) digital format.

My brother put on a video of our family trip to San Francisco in 1984 to convert to dvd. I haven’t seen most of these videos in years and years (some of them I may have never seen).

I’m sitting watching the video before I go to Provo’s art gallery stroll tonight.

All I really wanted to say is that in this video of all us kids playing at the beach, the 5-year-old me is wearing a typical 80s slightly puffy-sleeved knit pastel horizontal-striped top, and dark denim jeans with white vertical pinstripes. SWEET.

Oh. And gas prices in San Francisco in 1984 were the same price as they were today in Orem.

*Update: My mother informs me it’s LED, not plasma. Correction has been made.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 6:02 am

    That last part is nuts.

    The rest is awesome. :)

  2. Rachel K-G permalink
    December 7, 2008 4:23 pm

    Once your family DVDs have been produced, don’t store them in jewelboxes with black plastic inserts — there’s some sort of offgassing from that black plastic that shortens the lifespan of cds, and presumably dvds as well.

    Ah, talking shop.

  3. Lili permalink*
    December 7, 2008 5:47 pm

    haha, nice, thanks for the tip. I’m sure we’ll use some nice… polyethlene (or Tyvek!) sleeves or something like that ;)

Leave a Reply

