Skip to content

Finally, photos of my Jack-O-Lantern

November 17, 2008

I’m only a few weeks late at getting these pictures up.

My sister M- hosts a Carving for the whole family each Halloween. The whole floor of her house is protected with plastic sheeting, and everyone goes at their respective pumpkins. Pumpkin-themed food (soup, bread, etc = yum) is served, and good times are had.

I didn’t have a pattern planned in advance for my pumpkin this year, meaning I’d barely started carving by the time awards were being handed out to the little ones. But I got as far as cutting around the tree shapes by the time the party had ended, and the next day I carved out the negative space with my wood carving tools. I was quite satisfied with the result:

What this means is that much of my family didn’t actually get to see the pumpkin in person, but is seeing it for the first time now, on this blog.

And lookit me: Finally learning rudimentary video-editing skillz. I hope you enjoy my wobbly-one-handed-pumpkin-turning ability :)

It was given the detail-oriented award.

I also made a couple fabulous costumes for me and my brother to wear…I even used a sewing machine–something I’ve managed to avoid for most of my life thus far (even though I suspect someday I’ll really take off as a seamstress…) but I still don’t have photos of the costumes. Oops. Maybe I’ll get some photos up before Thanksgiving (or Christmas).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2008 3:24 pm

    Nice touch of music on the video. I LOUVRE the soundtrack to _The Village_. :)

  2. November 17, 2008 4:35 pm

    Very beautiful.

  3. Rachel K-G permalink
    November 17, 2008 4:51 pm

    Fabulous!

    I always admire the pumpkins that use skinned areas, I should really learn to do them that way.

  4. November 17, 2008 5:08 pm

    dear lili.
    i heart your blog.
    i just saw it for the first time this morning, and it has made me so happy.
    next year, I too, will make a beautiful pumpkin carving, because yours inspired me to do so!
    IT IS WONDERFUL!
    lots of love to you!!
    love melissa (snyder) wood
    http://www.melis-aaron-life.blogspot.com

  5. November 17, 2008 7:32 pm

    Cool jack-o-lantern design. I saw your costume on Spencer’s Facebook profile. Very cool!

  6. November 18, 2008 12:40 am

    A M A Z I N G ! ! ! ! !

  7. November 18, 2008 6:31 am

    Almost as great as they were in the flesh. In the…pumpkin….flesh…

Trackbacks

  1. Jack-o-lantern, 2009 « Plants Need Water
  2. Jack-O-Lantern, 2009 « Lili's Bookbinding Blog

Leave a Reply

