Skip to content

But I came home to this…

October 30, 2008

The first time I saw Stonehenge, I was surprised at the thrill I experienced (since I had not anticipated being as awestruck as I was to see something so iconic with my own eyes). The same thing happened when I first saw the Eiffel tower in real-life.

A couple days after I got back from England, I headed up Sundance Canyon to Aspen Grove with my brother Spen and our friend Jack. The colors were simply stunning this year–the best autumn colors I remember in years. It snowed a few days after this outing, and the colors faded significantly. But then a second wave of colors came along (the ones that hadn’t changed before the snow). Other than the one snow, this autumn has been truly idyllic.

As we drove back down the canyon, and I started thinking about how this is my home…and how close I live to such beautiful country, I got the same kind of thrill I had when I first saw Stonehenge.

I feel fortunate and grateful for the opportunities I’ve had to travel. And I’ve seen some exquisite places. But coming back always confirms to me…

There’s no place like home.

More photos can be seen here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2008 8:12 pm

    Nice photos! This has been the best fall in years.

  2. October 30, 2008 10:20 pm

    Beautiful pictures.

  3. November 1, 2008 10:00 pm

    Oh stop, you’re making me cry. :)

  4. Stephen permalink
    December 20, 2008 8:02 pm

    Lili, your eye for beauty and your ability to express that beauty in various media stuns and moves me.
    Love you girl.

Leave a Reply

