Skip to content

During the past decade

October 24, 2008

-2.5 years were spent living in the British Isles

-6 years were spent in School (BYU and West Dean College)

-4 summers in the Colorado mountains at the American Academy of Bookbinding

-1 BFA final show (BYU)

-1 thesis written and handed in (West Dean College/accr. through Univ. of Sussex)

-2 diplomas: BFA from BYU (printmaking), MA from West Dean (book conservation—assuming my thesis is accepted, knock on wood!)

-13 roommates while at BYU (2 of whom were named Lili/Lily, which is just weird), 4 Provo addresses
-Longest roommate: Mindy
-Shortest Roommate: FLSR girls

-1 student loan, to pay off over the next decade ☺

-1.5 years were on a mission, of which: 2 months in the MTC (learning French), 4 months in LA (2 serving in the ghetto, 2 in Beverly Hills/ Belle Aire, 2 full-field, 2 in the visitor’s center, 2 in UCLA—it all figures into the 4 months, trust me–and one year in Ireland: 6 months in Northern Ireland, 6 months in the Republic of Ireland…so, three countries and two languages for one mission. (Three, if you count the Irish accent—which, believe me was another language at times!)
-13 mission companions

-A few months working making tourist magnets while listening to NPR

-4 years working part-time in the BYU conservation Lab

-6 weeks interning at Shepherd’s bindery in London

-6 weeks interning at Bignell’s paper conservation in London

-6 weeks interning at the Bodleian library in Oxford

-4 years living in Provo

-3-4 years living in Orem (not sure on this one, since it’s all broken into chunks)

-1 month living in Italy (printmaking class/trip with BYU friends—but how many prints did we really make when there was Italy to be seen?)

-1.5 weeks in Switzerland (2 diff. trips)

-Multiple trips to Scotland

-3 visits to Wales (which, of all places I’ve been (with the exception of Ireland, of course) I LOVE…)

-A few days in Berlin

-A few days in the German countryside

-1 day in Austria

-A few more days in Prague

-1 week in Paris

-2 trips back to Ireland since my mission (though I didn’t get to see enough people from my mission)

-Several trips to The LA/Orange County area

-Two trips back to Seattle/Tacoma: one a couple summers before my grandpa died, the other for his funeral in 2006

-1 week in New York (two trips)

-3 grandparents passed away

-10 blind dates (I made that number up, but it sounds about right)

plenty of awkward dates

-4 boyfriends

-2.5 years dating

-7.5 years not dating

-1 car owned

-Three trips to traffic school

-0 traffic tickets (thanks to traffic school…)

-5 traffic accidents: one fender bender, one with a girl who didn’t know how to drive, reversing into a huge rock in Ireland–long story), 3 times I was backed into–twice when my car was parked. None were my fault (had to get that in)

-1 rude awakening when a car drove into my house in the middle of the night (sometime I’ll blog about that)

-100s of friends made

-100s of prints and other artwork made

-100s of books bound

-12 nieces and nephews born (bringing the total to 14 – with number 15 on the way)

-A sister-in-law gained (plus 3 brothers-in-law, but they all married my sisters before I was 20)

-5 years as a red head (it’s all finally grown out – thinking of going red again)

-2 blogs launched

-1 cavity, 0 broken bones, 0 stitches, 0 hospital stays

It’s fun to look back and gain a bit of perspective on where I’ve been, how far I’ve come, and where I’m headed. I can see Heavenly Father’s hand in my life thus far and am grateful for the experiences and opportunities I’ve had. I’m in a very different place than I would have imagined for myself 10 years ago, but I’m right where I should be, which is a satisfying feeling. Thank you to everyone who has been a part of my life thus far–I’m feeling good about turning 30, and looking forward to the next decade!

Hoping the next decade includes:

One husband
Babies
Less time traveling and more time with family
Satisfying work
Living in interesting places
100s of additional friends
More artwork made and Art collaborations
A trip to the South Pacific (I said less time traveling– not no time traveling)
Improved guitar/banjo/singing skills
More nieces and nephews
More in-laws
Gardens
Hikes
Exploring
…or whatever unexpected surprises are meant for me!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2008 12:41 am

    Happy Birthday! Life is beautiful, isn’t it? Thank you for sharing such lovely thoughts.

  2. October 25, 2008 2:35 am

    I love this post! It does put everything into perspective! You have done some amazing things during the past 10 years! I’m so glad to know you! Happy birthday! I hope the next decade brings you all those things you listed.

  3. October 25, 2008 11:21 am

    Lili this is bonkers! How did you calculate all that? Blimey! Its great tho xxx

  4. October 26, 2008 4:47 am

    OH i need to do this, ha ha. THAT’S GREAT!

  5. Laurie permalink
    October 26, 2008 1:54 pm

    Lili!!

    I am so glad i could take part in many of your highlighted events of the last decade! Especially the one week in switzerland and germany. ha ha. Happy Birthday!!!

  6. Lily permalink
    October 26, 2008 9:38 pm

    Happy Birthday, Cousin! I’m so sad we had to miss festivities yesterday, but I hope you had a wonderful day (the beautiful weather was here to honor you). May all your “next decade” wishes come true!

  7. October 27, 2008 8:11 pm

    I LOVED reading this. Marcus and I were talking about you last night. We love you. That’s really what it comes down to. You are an extraordinary person and I’m so glad we know you. Happy Birthday.

  8. November 12, 2008 6:55 am

    I don’t read a lot of blogs…but I wanted to check yours out and I loved this post I might have to borrow the idea. That is some good reflecting and I love how adventurous your 20’s are. I miss you and I hope you are well. Call me soon so we can have a “proper” talk and come to NYC and visit. My number is still the same has yours changed? Email it to me if so. xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. Headed to Tonga « Plants Need Water

Leave a Reply

