Skip to content

Because photo mosaics are more fun on a Friday night than thesis-writing…

August 16, 2008

Wanting to be as cool as my blogging sister and my blogging brother, I’m playing along, too:

Here are the instructions:

a. Type your answer to each of the questions below into Flickr Search.
b. Using only the first page, pick an image.
c. Copy and paste each of the URLs for the images into mosaic maker.

The Questions:
1. What is your first name?
2. What is your favorite food?
3. What high school did you go to?
4. What is your favorite color?
5. Who is your celebrity crush?
6. Favorite drink?
7. Dream vacation?
8. Favorite dessert?
9. What you want to be when you grow up?
10. What do you love most in life?
11. One word to describe you.
12. Your flickr name. (kid version: favorite animal?)

Anyone else want to play? I’d love to see your results…
——

The trouble is that like my sister, I tend to be a bit thorough with these kinds of games, over-analyzing the implications of my answers, and trying 3 variant forms of my answer (I have too many favorites) before settling on an image, etc…

And some of the photos were pretty great…so I wound up having to do a “serious” one (above), as well as a funny/tacky one (below).

And, like my sis, I feel a need to explain a couple answers.

Explanation #1 The celebrity crush answer was Christian Bale. I first crushed on him when I was about 14 and Newsies came out (I think he was about 18 when he did that film)…then there was Little Women…and of course Batman…so it’s a crush that’s grown with me…but when the photos came up, they were mostly of Joker–or else not very good ones of CB–not only that, but I felt embarrassed to post a pic of him. But among the Cristian Bale selections was the pic I wound up using, which reminded me that I also have a celebrity crush on John Krasinski, and the photo caption with the photo (a co-worker found her celebrity fantasy list–“BURN!”) totally made me laugh.

#2 With the “what you want to be when you grow up” question, I tried bookbinder and liked the photo of the press, so I used it. But I also tried “mommy,” and the photo that came up gave me the giggles (I once joked to my mom that she whelped us–we 9 kids are so close in age, we’re practically a litter)…So like I said, I had to do a second collage.

#3 The answer to the word that describes me was “charmed,” since my sister tells me I live a charmed life. This photo was also in competition for the spot.

Oh, and I think it’s poignant/nice that my sis, my bro, and I all answered “family. :)

Also: the photos that my name brings up are hilarious. Apparently there is a doll and a hamster with my name:

Compare this spelling of my name to my cousin’s variant form, and I find the results to be a very interesting contrast:

(Ok, the images for my name/spelling were taken from two Flickr pages instead of one, but the Lily spelling was just the one page)

I told you I get a bit obsessive with games like these. Oh well. I did it while watching a film with a couple classmates. So no harm done time-sink-wise.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2008 3:42 pm

    The labrador is awesome. Nicely done all around. Zina wants to know who is my celebrity crush. I chose an obscure picture on purpose.

  2. Carli permalink
    August 21, 2008 12:55 am

    I think my favorite one is of the flowers. They are so pretty and neat looking!

Leave a Reply

