Skip to content

The rain doesn’t help with the I’ve-been-abandoned blues, either…

July 9, 2008

Lest I’ve tricked my readers into believing that it is always exquisitely sunny and beautiful here (since those are the only days I am outdoors to take photographs), I figure I better post a reality check, as taken from my bedroom window:


But hey, you can’t have the green without the rain, right. The news today said that parts of Britain would get a month’s-worth of rain in one day (today). I think we might have qualified.

Show’s how I’ve been home from my mission for some time (I was a missionary in Ireland for my church from 2000-2001) –it wasn’t until just now at the end of the day that I thought about how glad I am that I don’t have to be out in it, and remembered the missionaries…who are. Because believe you me, I know what it is to be on a bicycle and absolutely drenched through and through, as the water glides down your legs and into your shoes; and since you’re wearing a skirt, the water gathers into a swimming hole in your lap. Those were the days!

Haha– that just triggered a memory of riding our bikes home on one of these sopping wet days, and hearing Ady yell to me in a long sing-songy call, “are you wet-a?” And me shouting back, “yes I am-a…” When we got back, soaking wet but quite cheerful, Ady offered a prayer: “Heavenly Father, we are so grateful… to be… wet.” At which point I peeked my eyes open and interrupted her, “we are?” She opened her eyes and looked at me. “Well, yeah. We had so much fun!” I couldn’t argue that one. I was indeed grateful to be wet. So I let her finish her prayer.

But right now I’m grateful to be dry. :)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Acheté permalink
    July 11, 2008 2:40 am

    As you say: “Plants need water, man!” When I had the chance to visit New Zealand with BYU Singers, we spent a lot of time trying to catch glimpses of the beautiful countryside through fogged-up, rain-covered bus windows.

    I love the Ady story.

  2. lilbooks permalink*
    July 11, 2008 11:48 am

    haha, yeah. I realized after the post that I was totally building on the motto of my blog.

  3. Jenny permalink
    July 16, 2008 9:14 pm

    My brother-in-law is getting back from his mission, in about 3 hours!, from England. I’m sure he won’t miss the biking in the rain days…then again, it’s funny the things you miss when you are away from them. It reminds me of your previous post and missing your friends. But really, some of the things that you think drive you crazy at the time become a new memory once they are removed from your grasp — when you no longer have the opportunity to experience it. So, maybe he will miss the rain. We’ll soon find out. I love you Lili!

  4. lilbooks permalink*
    July 16, 2008 9:19 pm

    Well, I can definitely say that I missed the rain after a year in Ireland. Utah in August looked absolutely parched! Love you back, Jenny! Glad you found my blog!

  5. lilbooks permalink*
    July 16, 2008 9:24 pm

    Oh, and welcome home to your bro-in-law! I remember now, Scott saying that his bro was in England

Leave a Reply

