Skip to content

Summer at West Dean

July 1, 2008

Grades were submitted last Thursday.

In the week leading up to assessments, I rewrote my essay, bound a gothic book with wooden boards (blog entry forthcoming), prepared a presentation on the gothic book and gave the presentation, had assessments and met with external advisors, worked on a couple books at the bench, and plotted out what needs to be done over the summer for my MA project/thesis. Many prayers were uttered over the course of the past month, (both by me and loving family), and somehow it all came together. It’s been satisfying to tick things off one by one. I’ll admit that since last Saturday… I’ve been pretty downright lazy. But the weather has been absolutely stunning, and this is the first time this year I’ve really had a moment to enjoy the summer. It’s been a nice few days. The MA term starts officially on Monday, so while I’ll try to get a bit done this week, I think I’ll also just try to enjoy it. : )

Here are some photos I took yesterday. Wojtek said to me, “Lili, you’re taking photographs as though you’re leaving and never coming back!” But the thing is, everything changes on a daily basis…and summer is in all its splendor right now!

(My whole album of yesterday’s photos can be seen here.)


Me and a giant cabbage :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2008 6:15 pm

    I am in awe. Jealous, too. You took some gorgeous photos. I’m looking forward to seeing the book you completed!

  2. Serene permalink
    July 2, 2008 2:42 am

    You’ve got one heck of a camera! I love the photos!

  3. September 10, 2008 3:23 pm

    So Beautiful! I think your neighborhood wins for most lush and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

