Skip to content

The Trundle

June 10, 2008

Not sure how it got it’s name, but it’s what everyone at the school calls the highest hill closest to us. (I am aware that that sentence reads poorly, but unsure how to/unwilling to make it work).

I heard a lot about this walk before finally being shown the path by a classmate. Like I say, now that the weather’s so beautiful (I got up at 6:30 today, and the sun had already been up for nearly 2 hours), I seem to get out for a lot more walks. These photographs are from the long walk I took a couple weeks ago after I’d finally turned in my dreaded essay (the one that kept me from camping in Devon, sigh).

I felt like a little kid on this walk: I found myself picking wee blossoms and dissecting them, and stooping over to break flint rocks apart; making spark smells and revealing interesting layers of colors. It occurred to me that I hadn’t interacted with nature on that level in a while!

(All/more photos from the Trundle can be seen here)


This is the little lane between the post office and my school. This is looking back toward the school. When I came here a year ago from my interview and passed thatched-roofs, brooklets, blossoms and birds, I felt like I was in a dream (well…jetlag also probably helped with that)


One of the houses in the Village of West Dean, (the same path, looking the other way)


My Secret Garden :) (The school’s arboretum is on the other side of this wall)


Why they’re growing a field of thistles, I don’t know. But it sure is pretty. I know the poppies are out, and I crave seeing the same kind of poppy field I walked through when I was here in 2005…would that I had a car!


I feel fortunate to live in hilly country. Walking uphill/downhill is totally different from level walking. It makes me feel like I’m hiking, I don’t have to go as far to get my heart going, and it helps me not miss the Utah mountains quite as much.


Once you emerge from the woods, this house is the only house on the hill


And this is what the inhabitants see when they look out the window


Summer is definitely here. All the spring blossoms have turned to seed (I believe these ones are cowslips), the baby lambs are getting big, and the fields of daisies in the Arboretum are so thick they look like snow (I’ll try to get a photo of the daisies and rhododendrons).


From the top of the trundle, looking down toward Singleton.


Of course, no summit is complete these days without a cell tower.


Thistles on the day back down, in the evening light.


And this is back home again, the wee church behind the school and across the lane from where I live. I’m excited to finally be figuring out the manual controls on my little camera, so I can take photos in the evening.


That’s the college


From my front door :)

So, this is how I unwind after a pretty intense week of writing. Not bad, to have such amazing walks right outside my door.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Acheté permalink
    June 10, 2008 8:24 am

    Gorgeous. Thanks for taking us on this walk with you!

  2. June 10, 2008 8:45 am

    I love your pictures. They’re so beautiful and interesting. It might be your angles and the way you perceive what you’re photographing. I’m not sure. But I do know that I like to come back and look at the pictures.

  3. June 10, 2008 11:44 pm

    I love the romantical pictures! You are a great photographer. I would love to go there just for that walk—-breathtaking!

  4. June 11, 2008 6:51 pm

    Gah! These photos are killing me. I’m pretty sure I’m supposed to live in the English countryside. You only have a couple of months left! When is the best time for me to visit?

Leave a Reply

