Skip to content

Mom asked me how I liked Indiana Jones

May 30, 2008

(Warning–spoilers!)

Leading up to the film:

Months ago I saw the 30 second teaser trailer. Pretty much all it showed was the opening scene where a hat lands next to two feet, and the shadow of Indiana Jones picks up the hat, and that was enough to get me quite excited.

For the past month, every time anyone said “Indiana Jones,” the theme music would pop into my head. Sometimes I would inflict it on others; other times I showed better restraint and kept it to myself.

So…it was either going to want it to be absolutely fantastic (and therefore be disappointed), or I could just go into it with no expectations. I picked the latter.

I always forget how hokey those films are. But it’s Indiana Jones, and I love Indiana Jones. I don’t think I LOVED it, but I really enjoyed it–I would say it didn’t let me down in any major way. For a film made (25?–I made that number up) years later, the continuity is pretty good, even if it does seem more contrived and less “raw” than the original (this was a problem with the Star Wars prequels as well). Though they had some exposition, I appreciated that they kept it to a minimum. I LOVED the nuclear blast/carefully-labeled lead fridge. Totally made me laugh. In fact, I kept laughing in the film when nobody else did. Was I the only one who knew the films well enough to connect recurring themes? (“you’re a teacher?” “Part time.”) The OTT sound effects cracked me up, the boy-swinging-on-vines was too much (though the army ants were pretty cool), and…ALIENS?! What the!? While I saw the “he’s your son” from a mile away (and properly predicted the second half of the “they all had the same problem…none of them were you” word for word), I definitely didn’t see a giant spaceship coming back to take the crystal-skull creature(s) back to another dimension. Still, it was total swashbucker high production fun… So, yeah. I liked it.

Oh–and I was totally waiting for the snake part, which was pretty amusing

What do y’all think, did they set it up for a “sequel” for the son?

Anyone seen Iron Man? Prince Caspian? Come to think of it, I’ve barely seen any films in the past 8 months! I take it back, I’ve been watching a lot of costume period dramas with my “bookie” compadres. Mmm. Costume period drama…

PS, I “finished” the paper, which is why I’m allowed to write this now. I think I’m going to go for a walk before dinner. You should feel how stiff my shoulders are, mama mia!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Acheté permalink
    May 31, 2008 2:44 am

    Hooray! You wrote the paper! Mama and the boys watched Iron Man, Prince Caspian, and Crystal Skull on consecutive weekends, and pretty much liked them all. The monkey boy scene forced me to realize that I had actually been trying to take the movie seriously (willing suspension of disbelief) so I gave up and enjoyed it (once that scene was over . . . and discounting a few later blatant reminders).

  2. Robby permalink
    June 1, 2008 3:38 am

    I keep arguing with people as to why the whole alien thing worked: “but it’s Indiana Jones!” But nobody seems to get it.

    On the other hand…I was hoping it was going to end up being Atlantis or something…

  3. lilbooks permalink*
    June 1, 2008 8:02 am

    I think that’s what I was trying to say at the beginning when I said I always forget how hokey these are–but it’s Indiana Jones…

  4. June 3, 2008 7:49 am

    Ah ha ha. I didn’t read your post very carefully ’cause of the spoilers (even though I probably won’t see it for months and will have heard them all by then anyway), but I had to laugh about the theme music popping into your head part because I had the same thing going on with the Iron Man movie and the Black Sabbath song a couple of weeks ago. Now my kids sing that theme (Duhn nun nuh nuh nuhn, duhnuh nuhnuh nuhnuh nuh nuh nuh nuhn!) all the time.

Leave a Reply

