Skip to content

I did it

May 14, 2008

I went one month without sugar. And today I had a strawberry/blueberry mascarpone tart for dessert at lunch. It really wasn’t all that sugary…

And it was delicious.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. marymary permalink
    May 19, 2008 3:59 pm

    OK, you inspired me. I’m going off sweets for a month too. Starting today. It’s embarrassing how hard I know this is going to be for me.

  2. lilbooks permalink*
    May 19, 2008 4:54 pm

    Lol– I’ll be cheering for you. It’s funny, my classmate Jo decided she was going to go off of sugar with me–until they served pavlova, and she cracked. But I felt bad b/c it was me who gave her the idea not to eat it in the first place, so i simply encouraged her to eat it “don’t not eat if just because of me!” I guess what I’m saying is, I’ll be feeling your pain : )

  3. lilbooks permalink*
    May 19, 2008 5:03 pm

    Oh. And if you’re anything like me, your fruit intake will go way up, and you’ll find yourself munching on crackers and carrots and…well, if I lived near a grocery store then nuts and berries. But I don’t. So it was pretty much fruit and crackers and shredded carrots. Oh, and I set my own ground rules at the start: I was allowed yogurt and fruit juice, and even jam–but I only ate jam once when Jo brought clotted cream and scones back from Devon (and that was just 2 days before my finish line… and it was SO nummy…)

  4. lilbooks permalink*
    May 19, 2008 5:04 pm

    Oh. And I also hoarded little boxes of Special K and munched on that all the time.

  5. zstitches permalink
    May 19, 2008 7:38 pm

    I don’t think I’ll ever go off sugar again. I did it for a month once a few years ago, and I missed sugar every day and couldn’t wait for the month to end. I also got really, really sick of baby carrots. (I’m just now back to being able to enjoy them.)

  6. zstitches permalink
    May 19, 2008 8:09 pm

    I just went looking for an article on the “junkfood science” blog about sugar that I remembered having read, and didn’t find it, but did find all these (and lots more interesting ones on topics other than sugar, which I won’t link.)

    http://www.usnews.com/blogs/on-fitness/2008/4/3/sweet-tooth-youre-still-not-a-sugar-addict.html

    http://junkfoodscience.blogspot.com/2007/09/for-business-sweet-underground.html

    http://junkfoodscience.blogspot.com/2007/05/science-of-sweets.html

    http://junkfoodscience.blogspot.com/2007/10/gi-more-bad-carb-myths.html

  7. lilbooks permalink*
    May 24, 2008 8:03 am

    Interesting stuff! I guess I’ll have to amend my “I’m a sugar addict” confession. It’s definitely the act of eating it–not the getting it into my bloodstream–that I enjoy so much.

Leave a comment