Skip to content

Weald and Downland Open Air Museum

May 9, 2008

One great thing about the amazing weather we’ve been having is that after 8 months, I’m finally getting out and going exploring. Yesterday evening after a diligent day’s (5:30 am – 5:30 pm) work and after dinner (6:45-7:30–I’ve become very institutionalized!), I set out to find the Weald and Downland Museum. This open air museum is a repository for rescued historic buildings which had to be moved from their original locations for whatever reasons. I’ve known about the museum since I arrived, and I knew it was close, but I never knew just where it was. A couple weeks ago while walking with Jo, she showed me path that entered the back-way of the museum, which is accessed from the east side of the arboretum. I didn’t have to go far–there it was right through the forest–and it’s been there all this time. This place is fantastic! As cliche as this may sound, it really was like stepping into a painting of another century(s). The buildings ranged from a 14th century cottage to a Tudor square complete with a central market place. Behind one of the wee homes, I saw what I thought was a hen house, so I was startled to hear a grunt and see a huge pig and her piglet emerge–and this was after Jo had told me about being startled by a pig in the forest at the museum! Anyway, here are the few photos I snapped while visiting. I’ll be sure to return, it’s a very cool place. Plus, I heard that I might be able to get ice cream there–something that is never served at West Dean (there I go talking about food again!)

The Tudor square of which I spoke.

the stonework of a 19th century schoolhouse.

market place

I believe this one was 17th century

This is actually a different pig from the one I spoke of–I was too scared to get close to the one in the pen!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

