Skip to content

Apple Blossoms, Cowslips, Rapeseed and a Bluebell Forest

May 5, 2008

What can I say, I’m loving spring in the countryside of the South Downs. I figured out a few years ago that I’m definitely affected by SADS, meaning it’s hard for me to wake up in the winter and I want to go to bed as soon as the sun goes down (which can be 3:30 over here). BUT, it also means that I rejoice in the days getting longer. My classmates all think I’m crazy because I keep waking up at 6:30 or earlier. (I even casually track the sunrise and sunset using this site. This morning the sunrise was at 5:30. But it being a bank holiday, I managed to sleep until 8 o’clock).

Anyway, all this to say. The world is turning beautiful. Here are the apple blossoms a few steps from my front door:

And here are the cowslips behind Peachey House (where I live) :

There are yellow fields of rapeseed everywhere. They’re gorgeous. But supposedly very offensive to those with allergies. And, since they’re in the cabbage family, as they ripen they’re supposed to be pretty stinky. The following photos are thanks to Lucy–I haven’t had a good chance to take any of my own yet.

And here is the Bluebell Forest, a few miles from West Dean. My classmate Wojtek, who is local to the area, took us during a lunch break last week. Apparently they’re out a bit early this year, while other blossoms are out late. I think things started to bloom but then with the April snow everything that hadn’t started was delayed. Anyway, the bluebell forest:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2008 3:33 pm

    Wow, you have some amazing pictures on here! I wish I could come by for a visit! I’m glad you started a blog, it fun to see what others are up to.

  2. May 7, 2008 9:23 pm

    The pictures are amazing. I love all the bluebells. I also love the flowering tree blossoms. So pretty!

Leave a Reply

