Skip to content

Baby Lambs

April 29, 2008

It’s lambing season. This year the lambs were born right around the time of the only real snow of the year (in April–go figure), and sixty baby lambs were lost because of the cold. Those that remain are adorable. I’ve never lived among lambs before–nor have I seen so many babies play together. Most of the sheep have twins; rumor has it that this is because the sheep are fertilized in vitro. They lambs are getting old enough that they wander from their moms and play a lot, but it is amazing to watch a mama call, and two babies come–out of a whole flock of baby lambs. Also, the twins always seem to stay together. Get a load of the lambs leaping and playing:

8 Comments leave one →
  1. zstitches permalink
    April 30, 2008 11:58 pm

    SO cute!

  2. the MomB permalink
    May 1, 2008 4:56 am

    The lambs are adorable (I’ve been wanting to see them), and it would’ve been worth it for the brief snippets of the sound of you voice alone. Thanks for posting!

  3. Robby permalink
    May 3, 2008 2:37 pm

    I CAN’T SEE THE LAMBIES!!! ?

  4. lilbooks permalink*
    May 3, 2008 7:52 pm

    Rob, do you use adblock plus? Because sometimes I can’t see youtube links, and I think it’s related to that– since I never had a problem before I installed it. Usually if I scroll until the box is right at the top of the screen, I can see it. Annoying, I know.

  5. Robby permalink
    May 4, 2008 5:13 am

    hmm. no ad blockies. but it’s showing up now for some reason. go figure.

  6. zstitches permalink
    May 5, 2008 4:02 pm

    I just played this again for Rose and Henry — Henry was cooing and shouting and laughing and saying a syllable that I think stands for “outside,” and Rose was asking, “Which one is my lambie?”

    (Then I sent Rose to get a tissue for me to wipe Henry’s very snotty nose, but while she was getting it he suddenly rubbed his face in my lap. A typical moment in my life with *my* lambies.)

  7. Jill permalink
    August 13, 2008 5:54 pm

    OMG! our baby lamb walk!

    I was so ready to be back in the states, but I really miss West Dean and all my buddies (you guys… not the lambs).

  8. April 10, 2009 12:50 pm

    Great,
    Just saw lambs being born at a farm in the Yorkshire Dales near us.

    I posted it here at

    http://www.quillcardsblog.com/index.php/2009/04/newborn-lambs-in-spring/

Leave a Reply

