Skip to content

As Promised: 80s Sentimental Kitsch

April 26, 2008

The other day I spent a good couple hours organizing files on my computer. I have a folder titled “rubbish.” This is the place where I save stupid things. Like… a folder titled “sentimental kitsch” which contains photographs of things I stumble upon along my internet travels that remind me of my childhood. Some evoke nice memories; others not so nice. But for some reason, I delight in the agony of it all…

My little brother shares this delight in awful childhood pop culture. Every so often, we send links to each other of Today’s Special. For a long time my brother had programmed the phone to play the Punky Brewster theme whenever I called home.

So here’s what I found on my computer while cleaning it out. I deleted some, but the following is what I just couldn’t get myself to throw out. So it remains in the “rubbish” folder. I think “rubbish” must be a code name for…I dunno. You fill in the blank.

It’s not all 80s. Some is quite recent. But it all fills the category, I think:

First, Amimal Crossing. Mr. Resetti, K. K. Slider, And one of the many randomly generated main characters:

Bluebell was my first My Little Pony:


I bought her and Snuzzle (above) before anyone even knew what a My Little Pony was…I just thought they were beautiful.


The third of the original three was Butterscotch. I never had the privilege of owning her, thought my neighbor did:

The next one was my sister’s. I don’t remember the name, but the pony sure is familiar:


Well I’ll be. I had the photo labeled: Firefly. Does that ring a bell?

But wait–there’s loads more!


I got Birthday Bear for my 5th birthday. Our family was on vacation in Washington, and we stopped the van in a parking lot to have a wee party for me. I loved this bear. In a family of nine kids, it’s important to have something “all yours.” Well, my mom must’ve forgotten it was a birthday gift, because not long after, she explained to me how much my little toddler brother loved the bear, and would I consider giving it to him? I honestly can’t remember whether I did or not…I just remember the dilemma. I think I might have kept it–because then my brother got more, and cuter ones than this one (Really, he’s probably the ugliest of the Care Bears, don’t you think?) My mom feels bad about that one now. But I think I recovered.


Braveheart? Was that his name?


And… Cheer? Cheerful?


Grumpy Bear. I remember him. My little bro. had him.


Smarty Bear! Our family has a long agonizing history with this bear. I’ll save that story for…probably never :)


Today’s Special (It’s about to appear…)


Just for the record, Ricky Schroeder really is a Mormon.

Next: Kip

Napoleon:

Come to think of it, so is Jon Heder. (A mormon).

Pedro.

Really, those are pretty amazing dolls.

I still love Kermit

Remember those awesome hologram stickers? How rockin’ is this scan of a sticker I still possess? (Deep in storage…)

And of course…

The Most Powerful Man in the Universe!


(and his twin cousin)

(And the Evil Forces of Skeletor)

Of course this is not a comprehensive list. It’s just what was in my “sentimental kitsch” folder.

But there you have it.

How sad will it be if this is the only blog post I ever wind up doing?…It took me way too long…hopefully I’ll get faster at this stuff.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2008 7:48 pm

    So much gold among so much fools gold..

  2. May 6, 2008 9:37 pm

    Cheer Bear (I have the plush version) and I THINK it’s Trueheart Lion. But could very well be wrong. Laresa would know, because she had him.

    PS: I’m hungry now and I want to eat pavlovas while watching lambs leap about. Thank you.

  3. lilbooks permalink*
    May 6, 2008 9:54 pm

    Cheer Bear–thanks!
    And I did a quick google of “trueheart lion” and “braveheart lion” He’s definitely Brave Heart Lion:
    http://images.google.co.uk/images?q=brave%20heart%20lion&ie=UTF-8&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&sa=N&tab=wi

  4. September 10, 2009 7:02 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

