Skip to content

DIY Ikea wall sconce makeover

January 4, 2010

This is a little project I did nearly a year ago… and keep meaning to blog about (I have a lot of things I keep meaning to blog about… turns out I’m not super committed to this blogging thing–sorry to any of you readers who might actually exist!)

A year ago I was buying furniture for my room. As many of you know, Ikea is a friend to the poor person who cares about owning decent-looking furniture. Anyway, in the course of my Ikea perusal, I saw these TASSA NATT lights:

and I realized that these lights had all kinds of potential. I bought a couple of them (they’re only $5 each), went home, started browsing the internet and discovered some fantastic old children’s illustrations by Margaret Evans Price, printed them out, replaced the paper wrappers (was glad to find that the illustrations were simply wrapped and tucked around the light and not stuck on with adhesive, or the project would have been much more difficult), and voila!

They’ve been so cheery. And if I ever get tired of them, I can change the artwork–perhaps use some of my own art, or handmade paper… the possibilities are endless. (I also tried a Little Prince Illustration, and it looked great. The Little Prince in nightlight-form has haunted me ever since my mission when, in a little German toy shop, I saw a fantastic wooden nightlight with a silhouette of the Little Prince. Ever since then, I’ve wanted adorable story-bookish nightlights). :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 5:41 am

    dear dear lili.
    aren’t you a clever gal!? i love the idea!! they turned out AWESOME!
    you are tricky, indeed!
    happy tuesday!
    love melis

  2. samoftheanna permalink
    January 5, 2010 11:34 am

    brilliant!
    i love love love it.

  3. Hannah permalink
    January 5, 2010 3:06 pm

    I love it! So cute.

  4. January 5, 2010 6:26 pm

    Those are wonderful! I worked at a gift shop once, and they sold greeting cards in that same art style. I loved them and still have some of them.

  5. Christie permalink
    January 8, 2010 3:10 pm

    That is so cool! Will be stealing this one soon…

  6. Kristen permalink
    January 30, 2010 2:21 pm

    Very cool, thanks for sharing!

  7. October 28, 2010 6:44 am

    when i go to a gift shop, i always look for cute little stuffed animals and other cute stuffs-“”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

