Skip to content

Hoarding

May 19, 2008

Brace yourself, I’m talking about food again.

It’s interesting living in a place where all your meals are prepared for you, and where the nearest grocery store is a $12 round-trip bus ride away. It’s a recipe for becoming a hoarder.

My sister just commented here that I’ve inspired her, and that she’s going to go off sugar for a month. (Funny, the first time I went off sugar was because my brother in-law inspired me. That was–whoa–9 years ago. That’s about as often as I can stand to go off sugar). ; )

Anyway, that inspired my return comment, where I informed her that she will find herself with the munchies all the time. It’s only now occurring to me that while I was off sugar, I couldn’t even get nice munchy food like berries or nuts to munch on when I would get a craving. (Let’s face it, there are all kinds of addictions–my name is Lili and I am a sugaraholic).

Meals are from 8-9 am, then 12:30-1:30 pm, then dinner at 6:45-7:45 (I wish it was at 5–but at least now the days are long again, so it doesn’t feel as late). If you didn’t notice…that’s six hours between lunch and dinner. How’s a girl going to speed up her metabolism if she can’t munch when she wants? Tea breaks are at 10:30 and 3:30, but they only ever serve biscuits or cake at breaks. If I want something non-sugar as a snack at tea breaks, it’s going to have to be something I pull from my sleeve. The munching problem is aggravated by the fact that we are conservators, and no food or drink is to enter the workshop

So… at breakfast, I eat my bowl of cereal or an egg and bacon sandwich, and usually a bowl of grapefruit, and then I stash a couple little boxes of Special K into my bag for “secret snacking” (Only Sifl and Ollie fans will catch that reference). At lunch, I might take an extra bit of fruit. And at dinner, I’ll take a yogurt and or a roll for later cases of the munchies. Technically we’re not supposed to take food out of the kitchen, but in a recent meeting between the students and the caterer, I explained to her that this is our home, and that there is nowhere save the post office where we can get anything to snack on (and even then it’s expensive and lousy selection), and that I would like to keep my metabolism going in the 6 hours between meals, and that, quite frankly, this is why we all continue to smuggle out food even though we’ve been asked not to. She seemed to get it, and I think that now that it’s been addressed and is out in the open, the kitchen seems to turn a blind eye to all our food-smuggling (we all do it–it’s not just me). I don’t even hide my fruit and yogurt anymore when I exit the kitchen. It’s so strange how comforting it is to know that just in case I’m suddenly hungry, I do have a yogurt in the fridge or a banana on my window sill (actually, at this moment I have a banana, a pear, an orange and an apple on my window sill–it just happened that way, but I’m good at variety!) Knowing I have a snack for later also helps me take smaller portions at meals.

Another hoarding example: When I was home for Christmas I got 2 16-pack boxes of Trident gum at Costco to bring back with me. Let me tell you, it’s helped me through many an “I wish I were munching right now, even though I just ate a humongous meal, I didn’t have my dessert and I still want to eat something sweet” craving (the fruity stuff’s nearly gone and I’ve only got a few packs of the minty stuff left). But stocking up on snacks when I go to town doesn’t work. I just snack on it all and it’s gone in no time…

And, um

This is the true confession and psychological makeup of a food-hoarder.

The end!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

