Skip to content

My First Blog Entry

April 26, 2008

My sister has a blog titled “My Imaginary Blog,” because it took her ages to actually materialize her blog; and in the meantime she would compose in her mind what she would write if she did have a blog. Well I’ve become quite the imaginary blogger in my own right…so I’m finally succumbing and jumping on board the bandwagon.

The problem is, my imagination is carrying me away. Now that I’m dabbling, I want a schmancy website. Make that multiple websites. I want one just for bookbinding. And another for art discoveries. And another just for random stuff…but the reality of it all is that I’m a graduate student in the second half of an intense yearlong program, and I probably shouldn’t even have a blog! But I somehow seem to always be finding amazing (to me) or wacky things online–and I promptly send it on to my family. Lately it’s been bad; several emails a day…(and my family courteously humors me by not responding…unless it actually was interesting to them–or if they actually followed the link…but if I got sent youtube links all day, I probably wouldn’t click on them, either!) So it’s time for me to start a blog–so that when I find all this junk (as I know I will), I can put it somewhere… without pestering loved ones all the time. Then my family can check in as often as they want, without all the annoying emails.

The beauty of a blog is that there are actually people out there who share my passion for childhood nostalgic kitsch from the 80s…I know you’re out there. And you may even want to read this. And let’s face it, my family probably doesn’t! Hence the blog.

While I’m sure there are countless other ways to fill a first-ever-blog entry, I have decided to start with what I just mentioned in the above paragraph: 80s sentimental kitsch. I’ll put it in a second entry, since putting it in the first feels like a bit of an … unsophisticated start for a blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Robby permalink
    April 26, 2008 6:44 pm

    Make this the first comment on the first entry.

    And OF COURSE your family has interest in reading, duh! ;)

  2. lilbooks permalink*
    April 26, 2008 6:52 pm

    Ha, Actually, mom commented yesterday, approving the template. But I deleted it…because there was no entry to go with it. Oops.

  3. zstitches permalink
    April 26, 2008 8:20 pm

    I missed the Care Bear pictures. Sniff. (Just kidding; I’ll live.)

  4. April 28, 2008 7:48 pm

    Congraturation!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

